Page tree

Versions Compared


  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.


The Metadata Content Requirements were initiated in 2011 to guide data providers in creating and publishing records that were not only compliant with the RIF-CS Schema, but also contained enough information to be of use to other researchers. Required and recommended RIF-CS elements were grouped into a set of three quality levels for each class type (collection, party, activity & service) and were integrated into the RDA Registry as a series of automated tests conducted on record ingest (see image below).

Following an internal ANDS review of metadata guidance in 2017, the Metadata Content Requirements were revised and integrated were revoked, and the advice around quality records integrated into the Research Data Australia Content Providers Guide for collections, activities, parties and services. 

Current Quality Level reporting in the record view page in the RDA Registry